Log in



The Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry will be offering 3 awards valued at $1,000 to help support a resident enrolled in a Canadian Psychiatry Residency Program that wishes to develop his or her interest in geriatric psychiatry.

Application Due: Friday May 24, 2019

Please submit your completed application package electronically to, with all sections clearly marked to the CAGP Awards Committee.


  • The purpose of this award is to promote the development of future Canadian psychiatrists with a special interest in geriatric psychiatry.
  • The Award provides residents with the financial resources to attend the Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) of the Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry and to network with members of the CAGP.
  • The successful applicant will be asked to prepare a poster presentation, either briefly outlining a proposal or presenting results of scholarly activity at the 2019 CAGP-CCSMH Annual Scientific Meeting to be held in Banff, Alberta, October 25 – 26, 2019.
  • Following attendance at the ASM, if the full amount of the award has not been used, the resident may elect to use the remainder to support activities which promote his/her knowledge skills and experience in geriatric psychiatry.
  • There are a total of 3 CAGP Psychiatry Resident Awards available to be allocated in 2019.

    Applicant Requirements
    Psychiatry residents accepted or enrolled in PGY-2, PGY-3, PGY-4 or PGY-5 of a postgraduate psychiatry training program in Canada as of July 2019, are a current CAGP Affiliate-In-Training member, and who have not been accepted into a geriatric psychiatry sub-specialty training program. If already accepted into a sub-specialty training program then we encourage the person to apply for the CAGP Geriatric Psychiatry Sub-Specialty Resident Award.

    Please note that Affiliate-in-Training membership with the CAGP is FREE and is available to medical students or residents with an interest in geriatric psychiatry (who are not enrolled in a sub-specialty program). Click here for more details.

    This award is not renewable and can only be awarded once to a given recipient.


    The application should include:

    1. Letter by applicant detailing interest, previous experience in geriatric psychiatry, and future career goals.
    2. An outline of a proposed research project or other scholarly activity in geriatric psychiatry.
    3. Curriculum vitae.
    4. Letters of reference from the applicant’s Postgraduate Director and Geriatric Psychiatry Supervisor or Faculty Member/Head of Division of Geriatric Psychiatry who is a member of the CAGP.

    Application Due: Friday May 24, 2019

    Please submit your completed application package electronically to, with all sections clearly marked to the CAGP Awards Committee.

    If you have any questions please contact us.

    • Dr. Stefanie Montgomery (2018)
    • Dr. Catherine Bobek (2018)
    • Dr. Nicholas Ainsworth (2018) 
    • Dr. Emily St. Denis (2017)
    • Dr. Ryan O'Neill (2017)
    • Dr. Catherine Cheng (2017)
    • Dr. Claude Bergeron (2016)
    • Dr. Dominique Elie (2016)
    • Dr. Melina Gosk (2016)
    • Dr. Ching Yu (2015)
    • Dr. M. Selim Asmer (2015)
    • Dr. Ines Senouci, Université de Montréal (2014)
    • Dr. Paul Blackburn, University of British Columbia (2014)
    • Dr. Soojin Chun, University of Ottawa (2013)
    • Dr. Angela Golas, University of Toronto (2013)
    • Dr. Vanessa Thoo, Dalhousie University (2013)
    • Dr. Maria Hussain, Queen's University (2012)
    • Dr. Jennifer Barley, University of British Columbia (2012)
    • Dr. Soham Rej, McGill University (2011)
    • Dr. Holly Dornan, University of Ottawa (2011)
    • Dr. Joëlle Desfossés, University of Montreal (2011)
    • Dr. Sara Brunelle, Universite de Montreal (2010)
    • Dr. Andrea Iaboni, University of Toronto (2010)
    • Dr. Genevieve Létourneau, Universite de Montreal (2010)
    • Dr. Andrea Bardell (2009)
    • Dr. Marla Davidson (2009)
    • Evelyne Thuot (Special Resident Award: applies to 2009 only)
    • Dr. Jean-Francois Cote (2008)
    • Dr. Joanna Mansfield (2007)
    • Dr. Sharon Duff (2007)
    • Dr. Dallas Seitz (2006)
    • Dr. Shannon MacDonald (2006) 
    • Dr. Sarah Halliday (2005)
    • Dr. Vinay Lodha (2005)
    • Dr. Mathew Morgan (2005)

    For a complete list of past Award Recipients please click here.

    Connect with Us!

    PLEASE NOTE: The CAGP cannot provide patients with the names of physicians providing care to patients. The Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons in most Canadian provinces and territories maintain a website for patients to find a physician by specialty. A list of these governing bodies is available on the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada’s website.

    20 Crown Steel Drive, Unit 6, Markham, ON  L3R 9X9
    TEL: (289) 846-5383 |1-855-415-3917  
    FAX: (905) 415-0071 |

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software