Log in




The purpose of this award is to support the development and completion of the advanced level academic project described in the Specialty Training Requirements for Geriatric Psychiatry (STR) of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. This academic project may be in the area of research, education, service development and/or advocacy as it pertains to Geriatric Psychiatry and related CanMEDs roles.

This award helps to offset the costs of attending the CAGP’s Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM). The successful applicant is encouraged to attend the 2020 ASM where their name will be announced, but is expected to attend in 2021 when they will present on their findings. The recipient will formally receive their award at the 2020 meeting to be held in Montreal, Quebec, October 16 – 17, 2020 and are expected to give a short presentation on their project at the 2021 meeting.


Applicants must be in either PGY4, PGY5 or PGY6, and be accepted or currently enrolled in an accredited Canadian Geriatric Psychiatry sub-specialty program. The successful applicants will be undertaking their geriatric psychiatry sub-specialty training at the time the award is presented, which will be at the 2020 CAGP-CCSMH Annual Scientific Meeting in Montreal, Quebec, October 16 – 17, 2020.

The applicant will be expected to present their project at the CAGP Annual Scientific Meeting in 2021.

Applicants must be current CAGP Members-In-Training. Membership is FREE to all residents currently enrolled in a geriatric psychiatry sub-specialty program. Click here for details on membership.

CAGP Geriatric Psychiatry sub-specialty resident Award 

  • Dr. Michael Tau (2018)
  • Dr. Jeanne Sansfacon (2018)
  • Dr. Elyse Ross (2018)
  • Dr. Catherine Cheng (2018)
  • Dr. Selim Asmer (2017)
  • Dr. Daljit Bhangoo (2017)
  • Dr. Sarab Preet Dosanjh (2017)
  • Dr. Vanessa Thoo (2016)
  • Dr. Simon Woo (2016)
  • Dr. Kathleen Bingham, University of Toronto (2015)
  • Dr. Nadeesha Fernando, University of British Columbia (2014)
  • Dr. Holly Dornan, University of Ottawa (2013)

Past CAGP Fellowship Award Recipients

  • Dr. Jennifer Brault, University of Ottawa (2012)
  • Dr. Andrea Iaboni, University of Toronto (2011)
  • Dr Tegan Sacevich, University of Manitoba (2010)
  • Dr. Jenny Rogers, University of British Columbia (2009)
  • Dr. Daniel Blumberger, University of Toronto (2008)
  • Dr. Dallas Seitz, University of Toronto (2008)
  • Dr. Peter Giacobbe, University of Toronto (2006)
  • Dr. Mark Bosma, Dalhousie University (2005)
  • Dr. Sara Thompson, University of Toronto (2005)
  • Dr. Cheryl Murphy Dalhousie University (2004)
  • Dr. Laura McCabe University of Toronto (2004)

Lilly Fellowship Awards

  • Dr. Supurna Madam University of Calgary (2003)
  • Dr. Jeannie Ferguson Dalhousie University (2002)
  • Dr. Mark Rapoport University of Toronto (2001)

Contact Us
20 Crown Steel Drive, Unit 6, Markham, ON  L3R 9X9
TEL: (289) 846-5383 |1-855-415-3917  
FAX: (905) 415-0071 |

Connect with Us!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software